Skip to main content

Marriage is a beautiful and complex journey that brings two individuals together to create a lifelong partnership. As we embark on this path, it is crucial to understand the dynamics of love and communication within the relationship. The Bible provides valuable guidance on how love should be the foundation of all that we do, as highlighted in 1 Corinthians 16:14 (ESV), “Let all that you do be done in love.” Love should permeate every aspect of our lives, especially in our marriages.

In the previous month, we worked on developing our marital vision, purpose, and mission statements, embracing the unique gifts, talents, and callings bestowed upon us by God. These attributes are instrumental in serving others and advancing His Kingdom. Within these exercises, we also discovered the distinct strengths we bring into our marriages, which may often differ significantly from our spouse’s.

What Are Love Languages?

Dr. Gary Chapman revolutionized relationship understanding three decades ago with his book “The 5 Love Languages: The Secret to Love that Lasts.” Drawing on counseling and linguistic expertise, Chapman revealed that love is conveyed in five distinct ways. 

Understanding our partner’s love language allows us to communicate in a manner that truly resonates with them. Put simply, we speak in a way that fulfills their emotional needs. Without this understanding, we might inadvertently communicate based on our own inclinations and then find ourselves puzzled by the unexpected responses we receive.

The Five Love Languages:

    1. Words of Affirmation: For those whose primary love language is words of affirmation, hearing words of appreciation, encouragement, and compliments are essential in feeling loved. Simple phrases like “I love you” hold tremendous significance for them.
    2.  Quality Time: Quality time is the love language of individuals who value undivided attention from their partners. Engaging in meaningful conversations and sharing activities together helps them feel loved and cherished.
    3. Acts of Service: People with acts of service as their love language appreciate their partner’s actions over words. Small acts of kindness, such as preparing a meal or helping with household chores, make them feel deeply loved.
    4. Gifts: Gift-giving is the primary love language of those who feel most cherished when they receive thoughtful presents. The value lies not in the size or price of the gift but in the sentiment behind it.
    5. Physical Touch: Physical touch is a vital love language for individuals who thrive on physical affection. Holding hands, hugging, or even sitting close to each other fulfills their need for connection and love.

Understanding Your Spouse’s Love Language

It is essential to recognize that while we may appreciate all five love languages to some extent, one or two of them will resonate most deeply with each individual. Identifying our partner’s primary love language enables us to communicate love in a way that truly resonates with them. This understanding prevents misunderstandings and disappointment and ensures that both partners feel loved and cherished.

Putting Love Languages into Practice

Once you and your spouse have identified your primary love languages, it’s time to put this knowledge into action. Speaking your partner’s love language requires intentionality and a willingness to step outside your comfort zone. 

Here are some practical tips for each love language:

Words of Affirmation:

Compliment your spouse regularly, expressing admiration for their strengths and qualities.

Leave thoughtful notes or send loving text messages throughout the day. Use affirming language to communicate your love and appreciation.

Quality Time:

Set aside dedicated time to spend with your spouse without distractions.

Engage in activities that interest both of you to create shared memories. Practice active listening and give your undivided attention during conversations.

Acts of Service:

Look for opportunities to help with chores or tasks without being asked.

Surprise your spouse with gestures that make their life easier and more enjoyable. Offer support and assistance during challenging times.


Pay attention to your spouse’s interests and desires to choose meaningful gifts.

Celebrate special occasions with thoughtful and sentimental presents. Remember that the sentiment behind the gift matters more than its monetary value.

Physical Touch:

Demonstrate affection through hugs, kisses, and physical closeness. Hold hands and show physical affection in public to express your love. Be mindful of your partner’s need for touch, especially during times of stress or sadness.

Which love language do you speak? Click here to take the quiz! We recommend purchasing the book and going through it together. 

Understanding and embracing the love languages in our marriages can significantly enhance the depth of our emotional connection with our partners. As we learn to speak our spouse’s love language fluently, we convey love, appreciation, and respect in ways that resonate deeply with them. By investing in understanding and practicing the five love languages, we strengthen our bonds, enrich our relationships, and create a fulfilling and enduring love that lasts a lifetime. So let us embark on this journey of love, communication, and connection, building a marriage that flourishes in the language of love.

For more information about how to build strong marriage relationships in Christ, visit Dream City Church, seek counseling, or attend our weekly discipleship class. 

Leave a Reply